Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:28:58 - 3-13-2001
Times are a changing
I'm beginning to realize that somethings just aren't meant to be. The saying goes, "if you love something set it free, if its meant for you hunt it down and shoot it."

Do I condone shooting? No. But, I said hunt it down. Get over it, I was making a point. The point being, you don't always get what you want. (I think that's a song, too.)

In the aftermath of our sardonic yet sadistic week, the results aren't conducive to what I had hoped would happen. The student who made the gun threat gets a psych evaluation, is under lock-down, and people are afraid. Whereas, the other student (and helper) get off scott-free. Is that justice? No, but I'm learning to deal with it slowly. Very slowly.

Anyway, I've come to realize that some kids (note: some) find violence in schools to be a thrill. "What if a guy comes in here shooting," one student asked me. He was so overzealous, that he even attempted to act out what he'd do. (Jump out the window.) Fortunately, he didn't. My job + evil student jumping out window = Me working at Burger King next year.

Though, the thought did cross my mind when the same student asked me what I would do if a shooter was in the room, to throw him in front of me. Another bad idea, I thought to myself. Fortunately, these kids can't read my thoughts. Very fortunate for me. Though, sometimes I must rely on my sense of humor (which at the moment is waning) and satirical wit (aka sarcasm). Maybe a little fantasy, too. I'm learning that teachers are people, too.

A little off the topic. This morning, I woke to the sound of bad 80's music (hey, I am a product of the 80's...but this music was BAD) and a mumbled announcement that a Downey, Jr. had died. Jumping out of bed, I said, "Robert??" (As if I know him or something.) Boy times sure are a changing. When I was in h.s., Morton was the mouthy talk show host, akin to the modern Jerry Springer. He made the way for nasty talkshow topics, raunchy guests, and biting commentary. But, alas, times changed and he was seen as too "over the edge." (What were they thinking? Did they even think that perhaps one day another would take his place?)

So, it turns out it wasn't my beloved Robert who bit the bucket (*sighs*) but the "other" Downey. Tis a shame, I tell you.

Times sure are a changing.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!