Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:15 p.m. - 2001-08-11
Heat Wave, Stupidity, and Nostalgia

What's love got to do w/ it

The title was just a song on my mind. (Tiiiiina)

Well, this past week I've seen Chicago in concert, took my boys to see O-Town (Oh gaaaawd what was I thinking??), survived 100 degree heat waves, nasty evil thunder/lightening, flash flooding, my pure hatred for college freshmen, to be overwhelmed w/ "You need to set a prom date before school starts...oh and btw, don't forget to get the officers together to decide on 5 places that YOU went to find," and the sheer wonderment of life in general.

Needless to say, its been one HELL of a week.

Now I am procrastinating... I have to prepare the final exam for the lowly college brats in order to be rid of them. (They take it on Wed., grades are due Thurs. There IS a God after all!)

Then... My latest venture is playing w/ classmates.com. Amazing what a website could do. If you've been there you know what I mean. Talk about nostaglia (sp). I haven't thought about many of these ppl since I was *in* high school. Since I went to 2 different h.s.'s I naturally call my graduating h.s. the ONLY real one I went to.

But the first h.s. was where I learned that life throws you shitballs everyday you live.

SO, out of curiousity, I ventured to THAT h.s. only to have this flash of memories overwhelm me. I knew most of these ppl since 4th grade. I really don't think any of them remember me. But, you never know.

So, like a fool who is waiting to be rejected, I post a "hey anyone remember me" at this h.s. forum.

Nothing.

No responses.

Its been 5 days.

Well, I guess that answers those questions.

I even emailed several ppl from that h.s. and the "real" one. I've received 3 responses from my "Real" h.s. and nothing from that shithole of a bad memory.

Maybe that's for the best.

Oh, btw, if you wanna email ppl you have to pay $29.95. I had my name posted for 1 1/2 years and no one really emailed me (they can, but I can't unless I become a member). SO... a few weeks ago, I get an email from a bridesmaid of mine who stopped talking to me the day I was married (who the fuck knows why). She emails me to let me know she's been thinking about me.

Fuck her.

You know why? Well, I'll tell you. She sends back all the pics of me and my son w/o a fucking letter. She refused to take my calls. Made my bridal shower a tear fest (she pissed off EVERYONE and they were angry up until my wedding day). She tried to control my wedding and I just didn't have a part in that. (She was angry, it turns out, that her fiance of 4 yrs wouldn't marry her at the time. My wedding dredged up evil feelings, which, of course, she gladly shared w/ everyone AT my wedding.)

She stayed w/ him for 3 more years, then dumped him when he became a cop (which I find totally hysterical) and "Cheated" on her w/ "badge bunnies."

So, her emails were bits and pieces of wtf happened to her since I was married. She wanted me to call and I stopped emailing her. Why should *I* call her? I have nothing to say. She didn't even explain herself, nor did she apologize. I'm not bitter. I just don't have time for ppl to use me anymore. I'm graduating out of "doormatdom."

So, I haven't heard from her. But, that led me to pay attention to who was signing up from my h.s. When I put my name on the list, there were only 10 ppl on it. I was too cheap then to pay the 30 bucks to join. 1 1/2 yrs later, just about my whole graduating class is there. Talk about progress.

So, I emailed a few. Heard from a few. Am happy with those few. We're trading pics, stories, and jokes. (No fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd:fwd's though...and I don't believe they will)

It's been a weird week.

Besides this, I've been contemplating my career choice and told the admin's at the college that even if they birthed a giraffe from their nose, I would never ever ever subject myself to the daily grind of college freshmen again. 6 weeks was too much.

They can't write for shit (not that I can, but they write worse than I do).

I assigned them a 2 page research assignment, gave them the list of what I wanted them to do, how to do it, and what the topic was, then subjected myself to READING THEM all weekend.

I'm an idiot. A big stupid moronic dummy head. When will I EVER learn??

Obviously, it takes a Sherman tank smacking me into oblivion to show me what I shouldn't be doing.

Any who, I must get back to the academic grind of creating a final that wont take me long to grade, that will punish them for being assholes, and will accurately display their learning.

P.S. my mil is driving me nuts.

She's such a pain in the ASS.

So glad I wasn't raised by her, I'd be more of a mess than I am now. Scary isn't it?

Oh well... Chinese food is coming. I have to get finished. I just didn't want you to think I forgot to post.

See yaaaaaaaa

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!