Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:29 p.m. - Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2001
America under attack...

A Sad Day in American History

Yesterday, around 9:05am, someone came into my classroom to let me know that two single-engine planes crashed into the Twin Towers (NYC is only an hour from me, and many of the kids and teachers have family working IN and around them).

At first I thought it was a joke. I now think that I was in shock. Today, my head is pounding in pain over all the stress since yesterday morning. I didn't even sleep well.

Later in the day (yesterday), I start hearing about more attacks. The kids are very nervous, seeing that we're so close. Every plane that passed had some of them in tears because they thought the plane would crash into the h.s. Also, many families in our district have been greatly affected. Several are still waiting to hear from family members.

I'm shocked, dismayed, amazed, saddened, and all day I've been quiet, rerunning everything through my head.

I was just IN NYC not long ago, just NEAR the towers... how strange it will be to NOT see them on the horizon as we get closer to the city. How strange it must be to actually be IN the city now. Watching the news has given me a restless feeling. What is next?

I want to thank all of the people who've called out of concern for me and my family. As far as I can tell, all my family members have been accounted for. One cousin usually works AT the towers and around the area (Union worker). But, fortunately (for him, not many others), he was nearby but unhurt. Family along the river (the Hudson) must've experienced the most horrific thing imaginable. I don't think I'd be as calm as some were.

My heart goes out to those who've lost loved ones. I also hope that if you are waiting for word, that its good news. If it isn't, I don't know what exactly to say that would help you through this except that all of us are hurting, too, and we are here for you and pray for you and unite together with the hopes that these people are punished severely for their actions.

When I close my eyes, this is what I see, and this too.

Now, when reality hits, this is what I will actually see when I think of it all.

*sighs*

my question is this: What action will we take that will make them TOTALLY understand that we take no shit from these bastard terrorists?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!