Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:25 p.m. - 2001-05-29
Sunshiny day

Yaaaaaaaaawn

And, that's how my weekend went. All except for Sunday. I worked my summer job (I know, its early, but hey... it's money, right?) all day in the rain. I work at an outdoor event, so I tend to get wet. Tho it was raining, I managed to stay INDOORS. *aaaaaah* Tho I dealt w/ the cold dampness of a rainy Sunday, I was DRYISH. (If that's even a WORD)

I know, I haven't posted in a few days. How unlike me. Tis a shame, really. I've caught up on SOME of the sleep of which I was deprived of all year.

Speaking of year......MY SCHOOL YEAR IS NEAR AN END.

*aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah*

I'm still trying to get my schtick together so I end like a champ (or a less confused first year teacher who has done things on the slide because she didn't KNOW any better...)

Speaking of... I blew it today w/ the book check for Friday. I told the kids (and this is what I was told, honest to God) that they would have to turn in their books on Friday. My problem is this: I speak my mind, no matter who hears it. I then said, "Man, that's a stupid rule."

Ok, if you've ever been in a classroom...even for a day, you'd KNOW NEVER TO SAY THAT. Why? Because it's fodder for the fire. I just handed them the logs to which they burned the BIGGEST bonfire I've ever seen.

And, you'd think I'd learn.

Nevah!!

So, I let them vent. Hell, I've done it plenty.

I even BARGAINED with them, something I was told never to do. But, I promise, I have their interest in mind and its my LAST desperate plea for motivation.

I told them, if they were good for my subs, I would let them sit whereever they wanted.....PROVIDED (gotta love clauses) they behaved for ME too. Ok, there WAS a but...

Today, they were faaaaaah-bul-us. Not just good, not just really good, they were FAB. And, that's probably because I showed them a video and will be showing them it for the next week. (Then come reviews, then finals....I've got my end of year right where I wanted it!!)

What are we watching? Well, since I've managed to make it to the Civil War.....I'm showing them "Gettysburg" (tho, it was a strong toss up between this and "Andersonville" which by far was equally as great)

And, to my amazement....the BOYS and the girls....wanted to watch the REST OF

GONE WITH THE WIND

my all-time favoritist movie ever made....next to Braveheart and a few others listed in my profile.

So, that shocked me.

But they were good, all except K. The 8th period senior w/ the BIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIG MOUTH. He exuded his ignorance today, but I let it slide. Why? Because I had a gooooooooooooooood day.

One every 100 days isn't so bad, eh?

:)

Ok, more later....I need to write my reviews for tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!