Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:40 p.m. - Monday, Jul. 10, 2006
i consider it HER-story...
Before I begin, I wanted to thank you ALL from the bottom of my heart for your congratulations and well-wishes (especially from Captain Jack!!)... it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside... either that or its this rice-n-bean leftover thing from last week that I'm having for lunch. $10 says its YOU guys (because there's NOTHING wrong with my rice-n-beans).


Today, I made the 45 minute trek to my NEW school and signed my contract.

Now, unless they find that they DID hire a completely insane whatchamacallit, I will remain that way.

And, now I can exhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaale. Whew, that felt good.

And, not only that but I met the priest in charge (how do you address a priest in charge? Father Bossman? I'm so out of practice with this Catholic thing... so, any of you who are "official" and "up-to-date" Catholics, I need some coaching) and found out that he graduated from my RIVAL h.s. He laughed when I coughed *rival* out... (Yes, I'm charming AND funny)

I also spent time with my department chairperson and I have one thing to say about him, HE IS WONDERFUL... and will be a joy to work with. I'm really REALLY excited about this, lemme tell you.

There are other things, but I can't really talk about them because it would ruin my super secret identity thing that I've worked so hard to attain. I will tell you that somewhere during the mid-winter months, I will be taking my students from that particular class to a ROCKY MOUNTAIN STATE for a competition.

*Yes, I have fallen ON the pot o'gold and trapped the leprechaun but good*

Now, not only do I have my thesis and comprehensive exams on my mind, but also the art of LESSON WRITING. Wow, its been a while, I must say. But, like any bicycle rider knows, no matter HOW many years go by, you can NEVER forget how to ride a bike.

(though, the LAST time I was on a bike, I toppled and fell.. but after that I was good. So, I think the saying should be, "You never forget how to ride a bike after you've fallen on your kiester at least ONCE.)

So, now I'm going to TRY and SIT still for a few hours and work on the revisions for Chapter 1.

try

really try

Like... honestly really try

Needless to say, I will have lots n loads to talk about, I'm sure... especially since I have to sit through a 2-day "How to be a Catholic School teacher" seminar 1-1/2 hours from my house.

Good golly, I'm in for a world of something or other, aren't I?

the FUNNIEST comment of the day, "it's all about the men, that's why they call it HIStory," my new department chair says to me across the parking lot. "Yeah, well *I* prefer to call it HERstory..."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!